Christian Orthodoxy Still Lacking

Posted: August 1, 2010 in Christian Perspective

Christian Orthodoxy Still Lacking

I went by the website of a local denomination to see what was happening. To see if there were any major changes. There weren’t any. Usually on my two previous blogs, I have posted articles by Dr. Jerry L. Buckner. He’s an adjunct prof. at Golden Gate Baptist Seminary, and pastors a church in the Bay area of California. He has two articles that love, and in the past I have posted the articles, and shared my thoughts. I probably won’t this time. One of the articles does deal with Christian Orthodoxy in the black church. At least the lack of it anyway. Well, as I went by this particular website it dawned on me that christian orthodoxy is still lacking.

One Of The Main Reasons

And one the main reasons I will say it is lacking is because of church leadership. Yes I mean the Senior Pastors, deacons, and of course the people. As long as we as a culture maintain an emphasis on traditions of men, from the way we dress, and the church lingo that we speak and so on, then the church in the African American context will remain in this current anemic state. We need more men of prayer, not men of programs. At the very least, brothers that aren’t afraid like a local pastor here in my area to teach doctrine. Previously, a brother stated people in the inner city don’t need this. He claimed that my view point was subjective. But the proof is in the pews. Weak pulpits, leads to weak saints, and sickly churches.

Some feel it isn’t important, but the lack of biblical teaching is still allowing some of the worse heresies to run rampant in churches.

So, yes I’m sharing my thoughts this way in that Christian Orthodoxy is still lacking. And I believe we need a return to the scriptures. It starts with letting the scriptures make for themselves. Basic hermeneutics, and perhaps a resource or two on basic doctrine would help.

And yes, I’m recommending some resources.

For my brethern that are humble enough to check out these resources, I believe they will help revolutionize an inner city church.

For Hermeneutics:

Living By The Book. – By Howard G. Hendricks, William D. Hendricks.

For Doctrinal Preaching And Teaching:

Doctrine That Dances – Robert Smith

For Doctrine:

Doctrine For Difficult Days: Important Theology Made Simple – Dr. J. Vernon McGee

All of these are reader friendly for the busy or not so busy inner city pastor.

That’s all for now.

Comments are closed.